Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

Rummy – O

leave a comment »

I tend to post a lot of different things, and many of which might not be considered interesting to the majority of my readers. To that I say: “tough nuggies" because this is my blog and I am not here writing as a business, merely to write as a hobby and to enjoy what I write and when I write it. As I have mentioned many times on here, this is for my benefit and not yours. Thus if you gain/lose from reading my blogs, it is a byproduct and not the intended goal.

With that in mind, I take you to a game I have been playing with my family over the past few months..

Rummy- O  is a table game based on the card game Rummy. If any of you have played Rummy, you know that the idea is (to put it really simply) to get rid of all your cards in neat ordered piles/rows (according to the rules) before anyone else. There are variations on this game, home rules, expanded series and multipacks, but the game is usually the same at its’ core.

You can make straight lines like 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc.. of the same suit/colors

You can make lines of repeating cards like 2, 2, 2, 2 of differing suits/colors

You can add/take from lines laid down, pick up new cards if you can’t put any new cards down, etc.

 

So Rummy – O is the chip version of the game. The game pieces last longer as they resemble dominos. I’ve really been enjoying this game and the time spent with my family. Too many times we focus on being away from other people in the USA and rarely do we spend time together on an activity like a board game or good conversation. It is one of our failings as a money/gadget obsessed culture and I hope as we grow older (as a nation) that we begin to develop better traditions.

 

P06-24-12_19.16 3680704_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569830496930

 

What games do you still play with family friends? Monopoly? Scrabble? Chess or Checkers? Cards and Dominoes? I’d love to hear from you out there if you’re reading this, let us know!

Written by Josecito

August 4, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

