Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

Drying Time

leave a comment »

So it is time to add an update again concerning the boat and paper mache tests.

 

So far everything is going according to plan, albeit slowly. I am waiting for more of the rudder to dry and parts of the mast stay. Once dry I will check to see if it meets my level of satisfaction for thickness. If it does, then I will do a little bit more reinforcement of the edges of the boat that are used to hold onto (the border). Nothing wrong with being a little careful.

On a more urgent note, this boat is taking forever and I want it done before September. It would be a lot safer to test this in warmer waters and I would be disappointed if I had to wait another 6 months for next summer before I could take her for a test. Since I have low expectations that she will work (but I am still hopeful and confident she will float for about 30 minutes), it benefits me little to wait another half year.

Here are some pics…

P08-16-11_03.04 P08-16-11_03.05 P08-16-11_03.06 P08-16-11_03.06[1]

Oh and the boat, if I haven’t said so already has a name: The Corfield.

 

This is in honor of my ancestors, many of whom have been moderately involved in wanderlust, genius and overseas adventuring, three of which are noted below:

Thomas Corfield was a mining engineer. He moved to Llanidloes where he was probably involved in the lead mining industry of the late 19th century there. He then moved to the West Indies and lived in St Kitts and later at Cul de Sac, outside Phillipsburg on the island of St Maarten where he died.
His occupation in the West Indies was working as Superintendant of the Island of Sombrero where he was mining guano. ‎(Phosphates)‎
There is a monument to his memory and to his wife in the cemetery at Wigan, Lancs.

Source

Source

Charles Corfield 1819 – 1890 was a British homeopathic chemist at 26, Bennetts Hill, Birmingham, and at theBirmingham Homeopathic Hospital and Dispensary,

Charles Corfield’s brother Richard Corfield, attended Shrewsbury School with Charles Darwin, and Charles Darwinstayed in his home in Valparaiso in 1834 and in 1835, Established in 1846, Chemist to the Birmingham Homeopathic Hospital and Dispensary, Prepares all the Medicines used under Homeopathic Treatment. Homeopathic Medicines in Tinctures, Globules, Pilules, and Triturations, supplied in the greatest Purity. Charles Corfield died at Great Malvern, and his Obituary is in The British homoeopathic review, Volume 34, Charles Corfield wrote Reasons for adopting homeopathic treatment in the diseases of animals (1859)

Source

1834 July 23
The two ships arrived at Valparaiso, Chile near the city of Santiago. Darwin was very glad to be in a warmer climate and his stomach was happier to be in calmer seas. Both ships stayed here for a few weeks to be refitted for the Pacific ocean crossing. Darwin met up with an old Shrewsbury classmate, Richard Corfield, who owned a house in town and let him stay there. He was not very impressed with the surrounding landscape.
1834 September 27
Darwin arrived back at Valparaiso from an inland excursion but had been very sick for the past few weeks. He stayed at Corfield’s house with a bad fever and did not recover until late October. During this time he wrote a letter to his sisters back home describing his adventures and also told of how ill he had been (an act he would later regret).

Source

Richard Corfield 1810 – 1885, brother of Charles Corfield, attended Shrewsbury School with Charles Darwin, where he was engaged in trading or shipping business at Valparaiso, where he married Thereza Gonzales, a Columbian woman,

Letter 248Charles Darwin to Darwin, E. C., 20–9 July 1834: Valparaiso is a sort of London or Paris, to any place we have been to.— it is most disagreeable to be obliged to shave & dress decently.—

We shall stay here two months, instead of going North-ward, during which time the ship will be refitted & all hands refreshed. You cannot imagine how delightfull the climate feels to all of us, so dry, warm & cheerful: it is not here as in T. del Fuego where one fine day, makes one fear the next will be twice as bad as usual.—

The scenery wears such a different aspect, I can sit on the hills & watch the setting sun brighten the Andes, as at Barmouth we used to look at Cader-Idris.— The time of year, being now winter, is very unfortunate for me, it is quite hopeless to penetrate the Cordilleras; There is a mountain, near here, at Quillota, 4700 feet high.

I am going in a few days to try to ascend it; I fear however the snow will be too thick. R. Corfield is living here, I cannot tell you how very obliging & kind he is to me.— He has a very nice house & before long I am going on shore to pay him a visit; he presses me most good naturedly to make his house my headquarters.—

Letter 254Charles Darwin to FitzRoy, Robert, [28 Aug 1834]: Corfield took me to dine with a Mr  Kennedy, who talks much about the Adventure & Beagle; he says he saw you at Chiloe…

Letter 263Charles Darwin to Henslow, J. S., 8 Nov 1834: if you know any person in Liverpool who would post your letters to me by any of the numerous ships to this port I should receive them a couple of months sooner.— in this case, they must be directed to the care of R. Corfield Esqr

Letter 275Charles Darwin to Darwin, S. E., 23 Apr 1835: I arrived at this place a week since, & am as before living with Corfield. I have found him as kind &  good-natured a friend as he is a good man…

Do mention to Mr Corfield of Pitchford, under what obligations I lie to his son…. Corfield cashes the bill & sends it to his Father, who will bring it to the old Bank, where I suppose it can be transacted…

Source

 

Finally if you are interested in more information regarding this particular segment of my family tree you can find it on the Corfield Family Tree website, I have linked it below which includes a lot of information on my relatives.

The Corfield Family Tree

Advertisements

Written by Josecito

August 15, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: