Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

32 years… old.

leave a comment »

growing_old_is_not_for_sissies_man So my birthday is today and even though we celebrated it on the 9th so that the family could be together I use today as a day of reflection and contemplation. I’m getting old. Even though they say things like 40 is the new 30 and 30 is the new 20 I’m just not buying it. I don’t feel old, I just feel like myself. I know many people in my life that are starting to act older, not necessarily more mature, just older and crankier for their years and I refuse to fall into that category. I want to be and will probably be like my parents, grandparents and family are/were: youthful in mind and long lived. I mean really… my father is 80, my mother is 68 and they still live life as enjoyable as they can regardless of health issues or risk. Granted they aren’t clubbing or binge drinking college style but they are out there and their looks on their faces do not reflect their years at the dinner table of life.

lighting-a-cigarette-off-a-100-candle-funny-old-la1 Maybe it’s the DNA I inherited, maybe it’s the environment but I don’t think I’ll ever act like many of the people I see in the world. They act old and out of it, they look older than the years they’ve lived. Maybe it is just that they don’t age well or that their lives are short and thus they have to live it younger b/c at 20 they are physically 40 whereas I have the other side of that coin.

“The fire that burns twice as bright burns half as long…” ; to quote Blade Runner, is what many people seem to be. I and my family DNA seems to indicate (and not just from advances in modern medicine, the history shows people even two, three hundred years ago living into their 80’s and beyond) that I will, barring any problems like accidental death or murder, suicide… will probably live into my 100’s (w/o medical help) or older (with the addition of modern medicines).

So I burn half as bright for twice as long. Maybe that’s why we tend to get married in our thirties and forties naturally, because that’s our 25.

 

I guess I’d better think about what I want to do for the next 70+ years..

Written by Josecito

July 13, 2011 at 8:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

