Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

The Paper Lantern

with one comment

Recently whilst I was building my boat (and still doing the finer points of construction), I added another project as part of my “holy crap I’m bored” list. That was to make a small paper mache lantern, that would work without catching fire.

So I used some cardboard and glue, some paper mache and got to work. Naturally she isn’t perfect nor too pretty but she works, she’s technically my first completed paper mache project and is sitting majestically on my shelf in my room. I could have built her more exacting and with the experience gained from her, I realize that I could have built her differently and make all 4 walls clear (only 3 are, the 4th is a door).

All in all, this little lantern makes me smile and reminds me that when one has time, patience and little resources, they can make the things in life that provide them with a good life! Had I lived in the woods, I would be with a nice small light in a small cob cottage.

Simple pleasures from simple renewable technology… never forget the basics as we live in a small technological blip of advantage based on petroleum. Pretty soon, we’ll be in the dark ages again…needing a light to guide us out of it!

 

Written by Josecito

July 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the lantern!!! I still want to see one decorate in more fancy colors… if you start working on one now, it’ll be ready in time for my birthday! ;-)

    Dree

    July 18, 2011 at 8:00 pm


Leave a Reply

