Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

Springtime 2011

with 2 comments

Since my last posting was on the snow and how much I am sick of dealing with winter, I have decided to write another short post on this year’s spring and my plans. Why am I doing this you ask? Well ok so you didn’t really ask that. I just imagine that you’d be asking that since most of my posts are not very optimistic or hopeful. I am writing this post as a means of staying positive and of thinking of the things I want to do during the spring season. Granted I don’t have much money but the list of things here isn’t about affordability, merely desire and a means of keeping my mind off the horribleness that is winter. Since spring begins officially March 20th and ends May 3rd.

1. Take a Beekeeping Course

british_beekeeping_html_m69061e56 Before you start heading for the hills (or for this part, indoors), hear me out. Bees and beekeeping have always interested me and ever since my salad days in Delaware Valley College while managing a farm and learning Plant Science and Biotechnology (as well a side hobby of Brewing) I have grown more interested in early human industry. One of the symbols of industry during the middle ages was beekeeping and I thought it would be a good skill to learn about in the event that I get my own land and/or want some extra income and/or wish to get some free honey/wax. There are courses being offered by the Philadelphia Beekeepers Guild www.phillybeekeepers.org and sadly the next one on March 12th is full. I have confidence that another one will be open something after March 20th (the official start of Spring) and that I’ll have the money ($60) to pay for a class. Here’s to hoping that I do not have an allergy to stings as it has been years since I last received a bee sting!

 

2. Hot Air Balloon Ride

crazy-hot-air-balloon14 This one might end up taking place during the summer as it is more expensive and a Springtime trip through the air might be a little too chilly for my tastes. The costs for a ride are fairly pricey but since I have never had the experience of being in one before, I think merit the cost. A quick check at www.air-ventures.com is showing me that I can get a ride at $189 per person for a one hour flight including a toast of Champagne. Another even neater idea (possible neat short honeymoon idea) is that they have a weekend getaway about $600 per couple. Includes balloon ride, weekend at the inn (Fri-Sat-Sun) and a Champagne Dinner.  My guess is that the next two nights either you would go out to eat or pay for your other meals. The idea intrigues me.

 

3. Take in a Show

globeinside Since my budget conscious mind is always looking for a deal, I might check out www.lanterntheather.org/2011/midsummer.html  for their showing of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Fairly cheap seats of $20-$26 will get me a few hours of diversion and place me in center city next to Chinatown and only a few blocks from the Independence Mall area. Perfect placement if I want to combine it with a cheap lunch, early tour of a museum that I might have missed. I have never seen this play and because seeking more cultural enrichment, I will have to make this or something like it, a priority. Shakespeare look out or I might just bite my thumb at thee!

 

 

4. Visit the Fed

For my career rebuilding, I think it is time that I used my membership in the Philadelphia Council for Business Economics www.pcbe.org and take in a presentation offered by the society. I see that on May 4th they are hosting Richard Yamarone of Bloomberg to speak on “what we’re watching now” at lunchtime. Tickets are $20 for members, $30 for nonmembers. It includes a lunch and is also within the Center city limits, offering me another chance at meandering through the streets to take some pictures of beautiful colonial buildings and see some missed things.

 

5. Taste some more Wine!

20060923_wine_tasting_900x600 Apparently I am getting a taste for local wine producers and want to continue a wine tour of the area. Cost would vary but I would surely not spend more then $50 and visit no less then 3 wineries. Special consideration would go to the places that offer in depth tours and complimentary glasses (to take). Naturally since my twin is growing in her knowledge of local wine makers, I’d be using her expertise in planning this. A variable in the tour might be a stop at a brewery for a tour or something historical.

 

6. Planning a bike ride

c8d600c3c85601cfce446987e9b0da6c380c989f Ok so I really miss using my bike like I did when I was a wee lad. A plan must be made to ride the locks and canals that run along the Greater Philadelphia area. Even if it is for only an hour or so, I need to do it for experience and memory. Photos to be taken, preference given to relevant areas of biking.

Written by Josecito

February 23, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ever since you mentioned hot air balloon rides in December, it’s been in the back of my head. I was terrified of the idea at first, but now I REALLY want to do it. Damn you for planting the seed!

    Dree

    February 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  2. Lol, you’d be the first to complain about my planting seeds. Still the Balloon ride and Airships as a whole convey a bigger and more meaningful relation to freedom then any other method of travel that we have. My love affair with LTA (lighter then air) flight stems from my desire to be free and unfettered in all my dealings. It is the libertarian in me.

    Be careful on taking that journey into adventure, a quote from a book (quoting Bilbo Baggins) you haven’t read and a movie you haven’t seen tells it all: “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,” he used to say. “You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no telling where you might be swept off to.”

    Josecito

    February 25, 2011 at 1:21 am


Leave a Reply

