Gnosis

just a site about nothing important.

Spoofing, Spyware, Viruses, and the Hatred of Millions

leave a comment »

 

virus detected

 

One of the most annoying features of the internet today is spoofing. What is spoofing and why am I writing about it? Well spoofing is when someone sends an email to people…but the return address says it is from you and you never gave them permission for it! I am writing this because I am a victim of spoofing and of an address book theft online. Apparently for about a month now there have been emails sent from my email address to other people in my contacts list that contain links to pages that will either give you a virus, steal information from you like email addresses and passwords, or some combination of malfeasance. Immediately I changed by passwords.

 

It all started a little over a month ago when I checked my email and received a returned mail for a sender that no longer exists (my friend closed email account but I never deleted it from my address book). When I checked the email…it showed that an email was sent to a bunch of people in my contacts list the night before at an hour when I was nowhere near a PC! Curious as I was to why I have email being sent…I looked at the contents of the email and it was an adware link to another outside and very suspicious website. So I did what any normal person would do: I checked my Sent Messages to see if it was sent from my email account (which it was not). With that information…I knew that it could only be a virus that I may have been infected. So..I did the next step: I ran Virus scanners, and being that I am an obsessive compulsive person…I ran 5 of them. They all came up empty. Nada, Zilch, Zippo. Goose-Egg. Ok I said…its not a virus…maybe its spyware or adware…so I ran, three antispyware and anti-adware programs. All Came up empty as well! I was perplexed to say the least. Where were these phantom emails being sent from??

That is when I did some research and found out about Spoofing. The term means that an email is sent by you….to someone you may or may not know….from another location without your permission or knowledge. And it’s common and there was nothing I really could do about it other then what I had been doing. So now a bunch of people, businesses, and possibly job application places, get email from me to open up some stupid website link…so that they may become infected, or so that their emails get spoofed. Bravo moron who created this crap…you’ve succeeded in pissing me off and accomplishing nothing of productivity. And now that my email address is known as well as the address book (thank you…I suspect Hotmail was hacked since my computer was clean). There is strong likelihood that my name and other’s will be showing up on emails for the next few weeks as those addresses get passed around the international malware market.

So if you get any email from me or someone you know in the future or do not know…do the sensible thing…write the person you know a separate email asking them if they really sent it…or as a precaution delete it as most of these spoofing methods really do not show up in virus scans!

Written by Josecito

February 14, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

